Awards and Scholarships

Lawrence Hargrave Award

2017 Lawrence Hargrave Award Nomination Details – Nominations close 25 November 2016

The Lawrence Hargrave Award honours one of the true Australian pioneers of flight. Hargrave’s experiments with box kites at Stanwell Park near Sydney in the 1890s proved to be one of the most significant early developments in aviation.

The Award follows in the tradition of the Society’s UK-based awards which have long been regarded as the pinnacle of achievement in the aviation industry. The Award is presented every two years and aligned with the biennial Australian International Airshow and Aerospace & Defence Exposition held at Avalon in February-March of odd-numbered years. The announcement has traditionally been included in the Avalon Airshow opening ceremony, with the Award being formally presented in Melbourne at the Australian International Aerospace Congress (AIAC) formal evening dinner during the Airshow week. Past winners of the Lawrence Hargrave Award are listed below.

Previous Winners

Mr. John Corby FRAeS

In recognition of his significant contribution to Australian aviation. John Corby was a structures engineer in developing repair schemes and modifications on Qantas aircraft and engines. In 1958 Corby commenced a project to design and build a light aircraft that would be named the ‘Starlet’. The magnitude of the task facing a lone individual was enormous. John Corby undertook this formidable task on his own with little outside assistance.

The Starlet was completed in May 1966 and the first flight was made in August. On June 30, 1972, the Department of Civil Aviation granted the Starlet a full Certificate of Type Approval No. 74-1, identifying the Starlet as an aircraft in the same category as a commercial aircraft.

It is estimated that the number of Starlets built now exceeds 150 and that the aircraft is flying in at least 10 countries.

Mr. Colin Martin CEng FRAeS

In recognition of his outstanding contribution and leadership in flight dynamics, notably development of a variable stability aircraft, and in structural integrity, and the technical risk assessment of Defence aerospace acquisitions.

Mr. Rodney Stiff OAM

In recognition of his pioneering work and leadership in the formation of Jabiru Aircraft Pty Ltd to design, develop and manufacture highly efficient, composite design, light aircraft and engines to power them for the worldwide market.

Mr. Greg Dunstone

In recognition of his pioneering work and leadership in the implementation of Automatic Dependent Surveillance Broadcast [ADS-B] technology in Australia, the Asia-Pacific Region and around the world. This technology allows real-time tracking of aircraft by Air Traffic Control and by cockpit improve safety and efficiency.

Dr. Alan Baker

In recognition of his outstanding research into cracked patching technology for ageing airframe structure. This repair technology, based on adhesively bonded fibre composite reinforcements, has led to significant life extension of Australian Defence Aircraft and resulted in its application worldwide for the repair of military and civil aircraft.

Mr. Malcolm Crozier

In recognition of his personal contributions in the field of automatic flight control for several unmanned flight vehicles but most notably the Nulka “hovering rocket” decoy system now in service with three navies as the primary means for protecting those ships against missile attack.

Air Commodore Noel Schmidt AM CSC

In recognition of his outstanding contribution and leadership in establishing a system for technical airworthiness regulation and management of all Australian Defence Force aircraft, which includes extensive and seamless engagement with aerospace industry.

Dr. Gordon Long

In recognition of his outstanding contribution and leadership in the field of structural dynamics and his innovative developments in testing simultaneously fighter aircraft for low and high frequency loads, resulting in major cost savings to the RAAF F/A-18 strike fighter program.

Dr. David R. Warren and his A.R.L. Team

In recognition of their outstanding personal contributions to the conception, development and worldwide acceptance of the “Black Box” cockpit Voice and Data Recorders.

Mr. Thomas J. Watson

For his contribution to the development of Aerial Agriculture.